Meet our Data Analyst, Karol!  

1st August 2018

Each month a volunteer of Annexio will answer some fun questions about themselves so you can get to know the faces that bring our product to life!

This month is Karol Kleczkowski, our Data Analyst based in London. Karol has been with us since April 2018 and works closely with the marketing team to understand the numbers behind the marketing strategies and the wants and desires of our customers.

Where’s your favourite place in the world?
Mitake-san – it’s a mountain in a national reserve in the region of Tokyo. There’s a great hiking trail there leading you through a Buddhist monastery that looks like the Shaolin temple, especially in winter, paths with roots of cedar trees forming steps for you to step on, a view on Mt.Odake, which looks like a smaller Mt.Fuji, a rock called Tengu’s Nose, which you can climb using a metal chain and find a Shinto shrine with a samurai armor on top and many other opportunities to feel like Indiana Jones.

What’s the last book you read?
“Bearing False Witness: Debunking Centuries Of Anti-Catholic History” by Rodney Stark. I wouldn’t have believed the things written there if the author wasn’t a Protestant! I recommend it to everyone, it makes you reconsider the progression of science and history from ancient to modern times.

What is your favourite family tradition?
On Christmas Eve, we put hay collected from the fields last summer under the tablecloth when we sit down to have supper. It’s done as a remembrance of Jesus being born in a manger.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever heard?
Plato’s definition of slavery as defined by Dr Cuddeback: “Slavery is when that which is supposed to rule is instead subordinated by that which is not.” – True Freedom requires a correct hierarchy of desires – a drunk who can drink as much as he wants is not free, but enslaved by his desire. Only when he subordinates his desires to reason can he start to fully enjoy drinking.

What is your favourite thing to do when you’re not working?
Hiking, riding my bike and exploring the world (mostly within 20 miles from where I live).